Statehood is the most appropriate mechanism to grant the United States citizens who reside in the District of Columbia the full rights and privileges of American citizenship. These rights include not only equal representation in the United States House of Representatives and the United States Senate but also full control over local affairs.


Congress' power over the District


The United States is the only nation in the world with a representative, democratic constitution that denies voting representation in the national legislature to citizens of the capital. In addition to paying federal taxes, District residents pay local taxes and bear all the responsibilities associated with citizenship. There are two states (Vermont and Wyoming) that have populations that are smaller than the District of Columbia yet they have full representation in Congress and control over their own local affairs. The District’s population is also comparable to other States including Delaware, Alaska, and several others.

The District’s budget is subject to congressional approval and must be signed into law by the President of the United States. Congress can also dictate how the District spends its own locally-raised tax revenue. Through the budget, Congress can, and has many times, controlled the implementation of local laws passed by our elected leaders and referendums approved by DC voters. DC elects a non-voting Delegate to the US House of Representatives who can draft legislation but does not have a vote. The current Delegate for the District of Columbia is Congresswoman Eleanor Holmes Norton.

DC residents also elect two United States Senators and a United States Representative. This “shadow” congressional delegation lobbies Congress on statehood for the District. The current US Senators are Michael D. Brown and Paul Strauss. DC’s current US Representative is Franklin Garcia.


Achieving statehood: Active legislation


Delegate Holmes Norton has introduced the New Columbia Admission Act (H.R. 317) that would grant DC statehood. She has also introduced the District of Columbia Budget Autonomy Act of 2015 (H.R. 552) which would grant the District budget autonomy.


New Columbia Statehood Commission


In 2014, the Council of the District of Columbia created the New Columbia Statehood Commission to coordinate the District's statehood initiatives. The Commission is an independent agency within DC government providing support to the Statehood Congressional Delegation in promoting statehood and voting rights to the District. The Commission is comprised of Mayor Muriel Bowser, Council Chairman Phil Mendelson, Senators Paul Strauss and Michael D. Brown, and Representative Franklin Garcia. The Commission met twice in 2015 (see information about the first Commission meeting and select here for information about the second meeting). Information about meetings and activities of the Commission will be posted to this website.


The Office for the New Columbia Statehood Commission and Congressional Delegation is currently located in the historic John A. Wilson Building at:



Suite C-09
1350 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20004-3001

Phone: ​202-741-5019

The agency fax number is (202) 727-0278.

















All Rights for the images reserved to: Teach Democracy Site powered by Trike